It Was Two Thanksgivings Ago That We Adopted Our Puppy

He’s still doing fine, this isn’t one of those stories where the dog dies at the end

Walter Rhein
5 min readNov 24, 2022

--

Image by Walter Rhein

It was November of 2020 that my wife and I took our kids on a little joyride. We didn’t tell them where we were going, but my eldest started to get suspicious.

“Something’s going on,” she said. “You guys are acting weird.”

I guess our excitement was boiling over. Seriously, you can’t put one over on a smart kid.

My wife had been following the shelter on social media for a few months, and they’d just gotten in a bunch of puppies (Labrador mix). We were hoping to get one of them. She went into the shelter and came back out with Kuzo (name changed to protect his identity).

You don’t pick your dog, your dog picks you.

He was such an adorable little bundle when we first brought him home.

Bringing home Kuzo in a box — Image by Walter Rhein

I have to admit, it wasn’t easy at first. We were not prepared for him. Yes, there was an overabundance of love, but there was also an overabundance of pee and play and waking me up at 1AM.

--

--

Walter Rhein

I have 10+ years experience as a certified English and Physics teacher. 20+ years of experience as an editor, journalist, blogger and novelist.